Feet on the ground, head in the sky…

My job requires me to travel.  Sometimes those places are at great distances, other times the jobs are fairly close.  Regardless I usually fly to get there.  Yes, I had a project in Calgary once, and I didn’t drive there at all, not once.  I got the question all the time, why don’t you just drive… my response: well I can’t sleep when I drive !

See for me, I’m usually asleep before the safety demonstration is done.  I won’t sleep the entire flight.  I know some people who can, and I’m jealous of that.  But at least I can nap for a little while.  And after burning the candle at both ends for the work week, a siesta is desperately needed.

Some of the flights have inflight entertainment systems, others do not.  Regardless its always a perfect time that I get to reflect.  If its the end of the week, its a time where I can gather my thoughts from the week, and truely reflect on what went on.  Did I do all the things I needed to do, did I mistreat anyone, did I forget to give someone some needed material, did I get all the things I needed from others…  You get the idea.   If the travel is at the start of the week I’m usually planning out my activities for the week, and making sure that I cover off the things that I need to get done.  Also I’m likely remembering all the things I didn’t get done over the short weekend.

I like technology, and the great part about technology is that now you can have more music in the palm of your hand than you can listen to for 10, or even 100 flights.  likely more.  Which means I usually flip through songs.  If I haven’t heard one in a while I may actually go seek it out or just let the random selection happen.  Of course there are those songs that roll around that are indicative of the week and how you feel. I find that listening to music on the plane is a great way to refocus and gain some clarity into ones own thoughts.  I think that this is a very fortunate position that I have this travel time, where I’m more or less captive, to just sit and listen.   I really don’t mind it, if I haven’t traveled in a while, I actually miss it.  It could also be that I’ve been doing this so long, it’s just part of the landscape.

So one such song that always makes me wish I could get home faster is Talking Heads – This Must Be The Place (naive Melody).  The first line in this song is “Home is where I want to be …”  You can go google the remainder of the lyrics if you want…

I’m on a project and the company that I’m working for has a slogan, its simply stated as “Thrive”.  Oddly enough they are proposing that you take time out to listen to music, 1, 2, maybe 3 hours a day.  I’m not sure that most of us in our busy schedules can do that much.  Well not unless you are a traveler such as myself.  I think that my hours of listening on Sunday and Thursday would add up to the requisite number proposed…  or at least come close.  I wonder if their thought behind the music, is to invite people to relax, or to be introspective ? or maybe its something completely different.

I have many uses for the music I listed to, but when I’m in the sky, I know I use it to be introspective.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feet on the ground, head in the sky…

  1. Jenn Manuel says:

    Couldn’t agree more. Sometimes, I think my iPod knows better than I do exactly what I need to hear to get motivated to start the week ahead or to decompress from the crazies on the journey home.

    I had a friend who made a CD for me when I moved from NY back to California (which, now that I think about it, gives away my age…any older it would be a mixtape, any younger it would be a playlist, lol) – the “theme” of the CD was all about the transition. All settled into my upgraded one-way ticket back to Cali, I put the CD into my laptop, popped my headphones on, and out comes Chris Daughtry’s “Home”. Of course, I started crying hysterically (which probably alarmed the gentleman next to me!) – but that’s now become my “if only I could get home faster” song. Then 2Pac & Dre come on and I start bobbing my head to California Love and I can’t help but smile & realize that I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be. ::picture me rollin::

Leave a Reply

