Inspiration.

I think that I’ll start this off with a question….

Why is it that we need inspiration?

Fortunate or unfortunate, I travel for work. Some of you may think that this is a curse others may think that this is glamorous. Truth for me is that its a little of both. There are times where I’m away from home, and there are events that I completely miss out on. Those times suck. Then there are those times when you get to work in a place where all the people you work with are respectful, smart and friendly. These are the good times.

Truth is that I try to find a balance, and because I’m an optimist, I usually try to find the good, before looking at the negative. I’m some/often times disappointed.

Then there are those times when all the stars align and you get just what you need. Today’s inspiration came through via music. Lately this seems to be a recurring theme for me. Today during a break in a workshop, the company running the workshop plays music over the PA system. And the song is U2’s Beautiful Day. The line that struck me was. “You’ve been all over, and it’s been all over you…” somewhat befitting of me.  I sometimes feel like I’ve been all over, and those experiences are all over me.  I will live the rest of my life with the culmination of my experiences.  However the line that gets me is: “It’s a Beautiful Day, Don’t let it get away…”   Carpe Diem.  Seize the day.

I know that sometimes you can get so drown in the details of daily life and the work world that you lose sight of where you are and where you are going.  So, where are you going ? Do you know ?  I’ve said in the past, I don’t necessarily have clear direction for my life, but I want to have fun along the way.  I know what its like to just slog along everyday.  it can be demoralizing, it can be arduous, etc.  I get it.  Sometimes you just need a change of perspective.  If you’ve ever seen the movie “Dead Poets Society”.  The instructor had the students stand on a desk and read their poetry.  This was to give them a different perspective.  Maybe you should stand on your desk and read poetry, or maybe just take a minute to look around.  Looks different doesn’t it ?  Does this different perspective give you a new idea ?  Do you now have a new inspiration ?   maybe you don’t, maybe you do.  But the more you look at things differently the more likely you’ll find that there can be inspirations everywhere.  You just need to go find them.

I think I’ll attempt to answer my original question that I asked at the start of this.  “Why is it that we need inspiration ?”  Inspirations give us hope.  They give us the feeling that the world is a great place, and it is a great place!  You just need to go find it.  For most of my friends that will read this, there are ideas and inspirations everywhere.  I encourage you to go out there and Seize the Day !  You are in control of your destiny, make the most of your beautiful day and life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inspiration.

  1. Jodie says:

    I’ve learned a couple of things recently…1) I don’t try to balance anymore, I look for harmony in my life. There seems to be no such thing as balance, but harmony – that can be beautiful when you find it. I know it sounds like semantics, but it is much more than that, if you take a few moments to absorb it.
    2) The other thing I know is that in the past, I have spent more time planning a two week holiday than the other 50 weeks of my year. I have let “life happen” as it were. I am now putting some more time into the plans for those 50 weeks. My life is good, but not all that it could be and if I want to see some different results, I need some different input. Yes we are in control – but only if we take control!
    Thanks for this, Randy!

  2. Allison Levy says:

    Some of us need inspiration just to get up in the morning, which is normal — for me, it can be something really small, like going for a really great coffee.

    Funny — the next tattoo I thought about getting was “inspire” — we all need it; we all look for it; we all appreciate it.

    You and your smile are always inspiring Randy.

  3. Pingback: The space between your ears | Randy Smandych

  4. Pingback: The power of music | Randy Smandych

Leave a Reply

