Challenging the Status Quo.

Dream what you want to dream; go where you want to go; be what you want to be, because you have only one life and one chance to do all the things you want to do.” – Unknown5605938155_b4c59be229_z

I found this wonderful quote on a friend’s Facebook page. I kept reading and re-reading it. I’m finding that it’s becoming more and more poignant.

Ok, so lately I’ve been reexamining the way I live my life. I’m asking myself questions like, Have I been doing the most with my time ? Am I doing the things I should be doing? am I going to look back and regret not doing something ?

I keep going back to a question asked of me… “What do you want to have done before you’re 80 ?“. The second part to that question is “or in other words, what are you going to look back and regret, or wish you would have done?“. I’m finding that I’m having to rethink my stance. And maybe that in fact I shouldn’t have a stance at all… Maybe I should be more fluid and get the things done that I need/want to get done.  Start to shed off the preconceived notions, and start to open up a world of new possibilities.

DSCF0032I find that by challenging myself, challenging my decisions, I’m challenging what I took for granted, it’s forcing me to change the way I not only look at myself but how I look at the world around me. If your reading this you maybe thinking, so what exactly is he talking about. What I’m referring to is, at least for me. Start doing the things that I think I should at least try. For example: Sky Diving.  For years I put this idea down.  See I travel for work. I fly weekly.  As I write this I’m now completing my 111th flight of the year (yes, I know it’s only August). So, my go to line was always, “why would I jump out of a completely fine plane?“. Now I’m thinking why not? Go more, see more ! You never know unless you go. What is there to be afraid of ? Let me ask you this, what would it take for you to start to challenge your status quo?  or do you do this all the time ?

One life and one chance to do the things you want to do…. What are you going to do?
Maybe more importantly, when are you going to do those things ?

I guess it comes down to a simple choice really….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?hl=en-GB&v=7tkzc983aE0

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Challenging the Status Quo.

  1. Jodie says:

    Thanks for this, Randy. Good questions.

  2. Pingback: Eyes Wide Open | Randy Smandych

Leave a Reply

