One Minute.

What would you do if you if you had one minute to live?one-minute-400x400

I was watching a movie called “Source Code”. Not an overly well acted movie, cinematography was quite poor. Regardless, the leading character had a line in the movie where he asked the question. “What would you do if you had one minute to live?”  <Spoiler Alert> See the premise of the movie was that the lead character kept getting sent back on a mission, to find a bomber. He continues to get sent ‘back’ to live out the same 8 minutes, prior to the explosion that kills him and everyone aboard a train. Almost like a Groundhog Day, but with much more intensity.

I initially watched the movie and was a bit confused by it. I wasn’t confused by the premise of it, but by the ending. However, unlike the information I’ve exposed above, there will be no spoiler with the ending. You can just go watch it for yourself.

So ?  What would you do if you had one minute to live ?

I think that you can think of this question in a number of ways. Such as, you could take it proverbially, and think that your minute is over the course of a lifetime. Or maybe you want to apply critical thinking towards the question, such as, how do you know that you have a minute, are you clairvoyant and can peer into the future? I took the most literal interpretation, as that what it was in the movie. He had 8 minutes to figure out who the bomber was. I prefer to take the question and break it down and then start to ask the most obvious questions? Do you still have a long list of the things in your life that you said you’d do? Do you regret anything? Or are you waiting until retirement/kids grown-up to do all the things you want to do (ie: travel). If you answered yes to the any of above three questions, I think it’s time to you need to get going. What do you regret doing/not doing?  is it something that you can resolve ?  What are you waiting for, Time? Money? I think that if it’s important enough in your life you will shift your priorities to make those things happen. Honestly, I look no further than to my own parents. They did a number of things while I was still at home. They didn’t make piles of money, but they decided to do the things that they thought were important.  They took me on vacations with them, I BEACHremember going to Hawaii when I was 10 and again when I was 12.  They also had a cottage, where we would spend almost the entire summer.  The cottage was great fun as we had a boat and I would water ski and basically spend most of the summer in the lake.  I think that I’m trying to to this in my life as well. I like to think that I’m placing the proper priority on the things that are the most important.

I guess it comes down to what I think is important. I think that I’m trying to check off all those things on the bucket list.  Recently my bucket list is evolving from merely a list of places that I want to go to, but also the things I want to do along the way. Of course the more I travel and see things the more I’m opened up to new ideas and new possibilities. Which of course further expands my list. But I think that’s a good thing, because it means I’m constantly growing and learning.

I have thought back on the life that I have lived thus far, and marvel how unbelievably wonderful it has been and I hope will continue to be. The people in my life and all that I have to be thankful for, how incredibly fortunate I am. For example: I only have to think back to my own birthdays, so many of them have been spent, not at home, but abroad somewhere else. San Francisco for my 30th (with Janet and my parents), Perth, Australia(32), Hawaii (multiple birthdays), in Los Angeles for the Tonight Show, just to name a few.

I like to think that if I had one minute to live that I wouldn’t be looking back on my life with anything less than gratitude. Gratitude for all those that I call friends, and for the experiences in my life, the experiences that have shaped me and for which I am ultimately very happy with.

So if you ask me, what would you do if you had one minute to live?
I’d make those seconds count.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Minute.

  1. Jodie says:

    Well said. One minute, hey? I would spend those seconds laughing in the company of those I love most. At first, I thought I might rush to call everyone in my life to tell them just how I feel, but I spend everyday making sure those people know what they mean to me already
    I do have places I wan to visit, places I want to live, but plans are underway. I think, as we get older, we fall into the trap of thinking time is running out. My thoughts are that as long as I am still breathing, tome has not run out. So I will continue to plan and execute as I go.
    Maybe I will get to everything on the proverbial bucket list, maybe I won’t. But I sure will have fun along the way!

  2. Pingback: When was the last time you… | Randy Smandych

Leave a Reply

