Sharing

“Randy, it doesn’t matter what you have or how much money you make, if you have no one to share it with, its worthless.”

This was a quote from my Uncle Donny. He told me this at one of my family reunions. He took me aside and really confided in me about some of the things that he has done in his life and what brought him to where he is. But the line out of the entire conversation that I remember is the one above. Basically Uncle Donny was telling me that working for whatever means nothing unless you have someone to share it with.

So let me ask you this, what do you share ? I’m not just talking about monetary or physical items. Those are easy to share, likely you do this through your charitable donations. I’m talking about what of yourself do you share with others ? Those of you who know me, know that I would l likely give you the shirt off my back. Most material possessions aren’t really a big thing to me. Anything I have, if I really wanted, I could give it up, and if I really wanted it again I could just replace it if needed. Also most of you who know me, know that I share myself as well, I will pretty much bend over backwards to help you out. I will be your friend if you need that, or I can be there to listen to you if you need to get something off your chest. Of course there are limits to this as there is with any one else. I’m not sure why I’m like this, but I have found that over the last 10 years or so, I’m becoming more so. I find that I really like to share with others. I definitely get a sense of gratitude when I share with others. I think its this gratitude that I’m addicted to. I think that sharing is either something you like to do, or you don’t. I’m not asking you to change your ways to be more like me. I think you should be yourself at all times. Search your own soul and find out who you are. Then be that person. Change that person only if you feel you need to.

In my real life and in my work life, I’ve been privileged enough to see some sharing first hand (See my blog post on Altruism). Its really frickin’ amazing to be a by-stander when it happens. When I see it, I am usually taking notes. How did this person do that, and what was their thought process leading up to it. Usually its a matter of paying attention to the nuances of a situation and then thinking a few steps ahead of what you think will happen. In my above link/story, did Paul know at the start of the evening, that he was going to need to get a hotel room for his drunken co-worker. Nope, but he figured it out or knew at some point in time, he also figured out what the right thing to do.

I mentioned “the right thing to do”. What is this, and how do you know ?  I have a story/theory that I tell and the bottom line of the story or theory is “Let’s not lose sight of the prize”. When you look at this statement, the first question you should ask is “What’s the prize?” Because that is the most important part. In every situation, there is a prize, or in every one is a prize. So what is it. That is the hard part. Figuring out what the prize is…. so what is it ? Figuring out the prize and then helping people obtain it. That to me is helping someone out and ultimately sharing with them a part of yourself. You may disagree with me on this, but I challenge you to come up with your own definition on how you share yourself.

I asked you, what of yourself do you share ? Are you the type to share at a physical level, or do you share yourself, a part of yourself, a part of your soul ? I think that I do all of the above. And the most important part is that I make sure that I have people that I can share that with. Those of you who are my family or friends will understand this very well.

And according to Uncle Donny, ” if you have no one to share it with, its worthless.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sharing

  1. Jodie says:

    Good one, Randy. When I started this new job, I swore that I was going to keep to myself and not let anyone in. I didn’t want to lose those close to me, like I have so many times in my life.Marty told me that I was incapable of not sharing myself with the kids I work with. I swore I would do it.
    It took approximately half a day before I began to give of myself. I do not know if this is the right way to live – I have had plenty of hurt and loss in my life – but I don’t know any other way. And I am not sure that I could live with myself any other way.

Leave a Reply

