Sitting all alone inside your head

Ok, its been a while since I’ve created a post for my blog.  Suffice to say, there have been a number of events going on in my life that have distracted me from writing.  However, a friend suggested getting back into the things that I felt grounded in.  Writing my blog is one such activity for me.  So here goes, back at it after over a month or so away from it.

If you are wondering about the title of this blog.  All you have to do is realize my love of music and how I find lines and lyrics like this  one.  This lyric comes from the Stone Sour song, Through the Glass.  I picked this out, as I have been re-examining my life, and this line just makes sense to me.  If you’ve even spent a bit of time trying to examine the events in your life and you try to make sense of them.  The activity can fill you with emotions, some good and some bad.  I know that, probably like most of us.  I’m not overly comfortable being with myself and my thoughts, and trying to make sense of life.  However, I am finding that I need to face my thoughts and make sure that I address the issues with my life.  So I have been spending quite a bit of time sitting alone in my head.  Soul searching if you will.

During periods when I examine my life, I tend to go through piles of music.  I don’t know why.  I think I have a certain affinity to what is written to what I feel.  I some how try to associate my emotions with the lyrics.  I have no idea why I do this, but I do.  I like to think that someone somewhere at sometime has been through what I’ve been through.  I hardly think that I’m completely original in my thoughts or experiences.  Seriously, let’s take a does of reality here for a minute or two, there are some 7 billion people on the planet, and there have been countless billions before moi !  I have to think that someone has pondered things before me.

So what is it about lyrics and the messages they send.  I really don’t know why I like to read and think about the lyrics, but I find some solace in them, and I tend to lose myself in trying to find some meaning to the lyrics and the song.   Maybe it helps me define my own thoughts, or maybe it just makes me think that others may be going or have gone through what I’m going through… or maybe its just as simple as being able to lose myself in the lines of a song for a while.  Maybe its just as simple as a coping mechanism.  Whatever the reason, I still go back to a quote I heard a few months back… ” that you live your entire life in the space between your ears”.  So in essence, I’m sitting all alone inside my head.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

