Getting out of your head.

So recently I had a call from a friend.  They had read one of my blog entries and they were concerned for me.  Since there have been some significant changes going on in my life, and based on my last blog entry, I guess what it sounded like was that I was lingering in my own mind a bit too long. I was told that I wasn’t myself and that my friend was waiting and desperately hoping that the real me would return soon. What does it mean to have the real me ?  What persona do you display that when you aren’t “Yourself” that others notice ?

I’ve been reading a book lately… the book is called “Born to Run”.  I haven’t completed the book yet, but the book is obviously about running.  However one of the underlying concepts or stories is that the individuals in the book, never had it in their heads that they should do anything but have fun when they are running.  These individuals were then cranking out some serious mileage, and when I mean serious mileage, I’m talking 50 to 100 miles.  Yes, you read that correctly 50-100 MILES ! that is serious and significant mileage.  The interesting thing to note here, is that these are people that really don’t think of running that distance  as a daunting task, they think of it as more a joy ride.  They just go out and run for the fun of it.  They state that once it becomes not a fun activity, then they are onto the next thing.

These people are basically doing the opposite of what I’m doing, they are staying out of their heads.  They aren’t over analyzing things, they aren’t trying to improve their technique, they aren’t trying to compete with anyone for any prizes.  They are in it purely to have fun.  There isn’t any other thought other than that. So what does it mean to get out of your head.

If you are anything like me, you will let thoughts ruminate in your head for extended periods of time.  And in typical me fashion, if it ruminates there long enough, it will become a blog entry.  My friend when I talked with them, had said that they felt I was in a funk and that I should take steps to try to get out of that state.  I find it interesting that my persona has an effect on others, and that by not being myself, others notice and are asking me to be “Myself”. I have been receiving some interesting advice from friends.  One of my friends had said to me… “So, what are you doing with yourself ?”  when I said that I was eating well, exercising, they were impressed and told me to keep doing the exercise.  The exercise was the only thing that would help me to feel normal.  I think basically they were telling me that I needed to get out of my own head for a while, and that the exercise will help with that.  I would have to agree. Most of you that have known me or who have followed the blog entries, will know that I do Yoga.  There is a reason why I started doing Yoga, and why I continued to do Yoga.  If you need some background, you can read my past blog “My Yoga Journey so far“.  The main point I’m making here is that for 90 minutes, I have no choice but to get out of my head.  It’s all I can do to fully concentrate on exactly what I’m doing in that moment.

Living in the here and now.  “Living in the Moment” as one of my other wonderful friends would identify it as. So here is an interesting exercise.  This is something you can try, either now, or maybe in a day or so… at some point stop… stop doing everything. What is it that you hear ?  What do you smell ?  What do you see ?  How do you feel about the things you have just experienced ?  To give you an example of living in the here and now.  I was recently working in Honolulu.  I was out for dinner one evening, and on the way back to the hotel, I was walking along the beach.  It was dark and the sound of the waves washing ashore sounded great.  In typical Hawaiian fashion, the skies opened up and it started to pour.  I could have easily ducked into a store and waited out the rain… but instead I walked along the beach.  I was absolutely soaked.  I heard the sounds of the ocean, I could hear the rain in the tires and wheel wells of the cars going past and I could hear people rushing and scrambling in for cover from the rain.  I could smell the ocean and the freshness of the rain, I could barely see anything for the product in my hair was washing into my eyes and stinging them.  I could feel my shirt clinging to my chest and back.  I could feel my jeans starting to cling to my thighs.  As I walked back to the hotel, I was splashing through the huge puddles and in all honesty, I didn’t care if I was going to get more wet !  I was already drenched.

So, do you get the idea for living in the here and now.  Go ahead and give it a try. I get that life is serious, and I know that I can be pretty serious as well… but I want to thank my friend for pointing that out to me.  How did life get so serious and this is something that should have been very obvious to me.

Maybe I should be doing that more often… and maybe you should give it a try too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

