Please tell me what there is to complain about ?

“Please tell me what there is to complain about ?”  This line comes from a song that I just love.  The song is called “Good Life” by OneRepublic. If you haven’t heard the song, here is the video for it.  Good Life.

onerepublic_good-life-20I love the lyrics in the song. It reminds me that, really it is a good life.  I know that this statement/opinion will likely fly in the face of a number of people’s opinions, and will definitely fly in the face of pretty much every newscast I watch.  Hence, I’ve pretty much stopped watching the news.  I’m not saying you should be disconnected from society, but sometimes the application of a good filter on what you watch is required.  There’s an old adage, “You are what you eat”.  I like to say you are what you consume.  Consuming can have a broader meaning, and your consumption of food or any other stimuli is no different.  Watch the news and you may become the fear monger that you see so much of.  Should you live your life in fear… well if that’s your prerogative.

A friend of mine used a term call “First world problems”.  I appreciated the light in which this was used and delivered to me.  So many of what we think are huge problems are exactly that, first world problems… The following is a pretty apt description: “First World Problems, also known as “White Whine,” are frustrations and complaints that are only experienced by privileged individuals in wealthy countries. It is typically used as a tongue-in-cheek comedic device to make light of trivial inconveniences.

Think about what it is you have to complain about.  Often times it takes a different perspective to understand what exactly the problem is, and the magnitude of said problem.  Is it really just White Whine ?  I’m not saying that every problem you have is nothing more than some trivial little issue.  Some have very legitimate issues.  This is the point where I make no judgements on your issues or the emphasis you place on those issues.

The problems you face… I know they seem almost insurmountable.  But are they really ?  Let’s try an experiment.  What is the largest problem that you face today.  Write it down.  Put it in an open place, ie: the fridge door, or post it on your home notice board or, some place that you’ll see it.  Leave it there for 1 week.  In one week, I want you to go back to that problem.  Has anything changed ?  Has the problem gone away, or has your perspective on the problem changed ?  Has the problem been replaced with a new problem ?

Whatever your answers were to the above, I am almost certain, that the problem you identified previously is weighing less on your mind than what it was one week prior.  Does that make the problem trivial.  Not at all, but it does say one of a couple of things; one, that you will either get over it, or two, you make efforts to resolve it.

So what did that little exercise tell you ? I think it should tell you that the things you think are worrisome today, may not need to be as worrisome as you think they should be.  Should you change your attitude towards your problems and throw up your hands and say, no I’m not going to do anything about these problems.  Not at all.  What I’m saying is that stressing over the problems may not necessarily be the best thing either.  Instead, be observant towards what is going on, know what things are important, and know what you truely have to be thankful for.

Which brings me back to the lyrics in the song  “This could really be a good life….” and  “…I feel like the window closes oh so quick ”

Don’t let your windows close without making the most of it.  Make it a good life.

Please tell me what there is to complain about ?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

