Let’s suppose

From out of the blue….

Some will say that you never actually see something until you are ready to see it.  In other base-jumping-in-the-worlds-deepest-cave-shaft_1822words that opportunities will present themselves when you are ready to take advantage or to start to pay attention to those opportunities.  Fate… Karma, or dumb luck… maybe it’s something more logical than that… maybe you’ve reached a certain point where the pieces of the puzzle fit together, and those thoughts you had ruminating about are actually gelling into some rational idea ?

I once worked with a very intelligent gal that said to me… “Change is very difficult for people… most people need to wait until it’s a 9, before doing anything about it.”  If you don’t understand, that’s ok, let me explain.  If you have ever been to a hospital or emergency room, the doctor will ask you, on a scale of 1-10, what is the pain ?  Well, take that same concept and apply it to change.  Most folks would endure nearly an infinite amount of time with something that was slightly uncomfortable than change it.  It’s only when the pain of something becomes something nearly unbearable that change occurs.  Believe me if you want, but I think my prior co-worker was very observant of human behaviour.

I recently came across this wonderful little video with narration by Allan Watts.  You can watch it here.

“…Better to have a short life, that is full of what you like doing, than a long life spent in a miserable way…”

So let’s suppose that you that instead of it being a 9 before we changed, it was a 4, or even less.  Something that was mildly uncomfortable, and we did something about it.  I’m not suggesting that you go quit your job immediately, or that you leave your spouse just because things aren’t going great.  Instead, I think that if you did something about the things in your life.  Let’s say that you make a change that enriches your life and the life of those around you.  A win-win if you like.  For example: you decide that this specific activity that you had always wanted to do, but “couldn’t find the time” to do it, you actually decided to re prioritize the activities in your life to accommodate this new activity.  The pain wasn’t a 9, it was just an idea that you had that you wanted to do something a bit different.

The interesting part of the narrated video is that if you do something that you actually enjoy doing, there is a good possibility that you will be doing this well.  Eventually or in the future there will be a time that you can actually charge a fee for doing something you love doing.

There is something I see most every day.  I see people where they aren’t doing the things they love doing, and instead I hear comments like, “when I retire, I’m going to do ____”.  GREAT ! I say, then why don’t you start doing that today !  Start doing the things you love, trust me, there are people in this world that will pay you to do the thing that you love.  Don’t believe me, then just go do a search on Sustainable Travel.  Yeah, go figure, there are folks out there that are making a living by travelling.

I have a website, I built it myself and I had fun doing it.  Has it generated me any revenue, nope. But I can tell you this… I know there are a ton of folks that read it.  Should I change it and include things like advertising… I’m not sure I want to do that, but could I ?  Of course.   What ever your love is, you can turn it into something that you can charge a fee for.  If you want to that is… Let’s suppose that you could… where would you like to take this new venture ?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

