Inattentional Blindness

So have you heard of this term before… “Inattentional Blindness” ?  Don’t feel bad if you haven’t.  I didn’t know about it until a short time ago.

So what does it mean…. well the according to Wikipedia it means this.

And if you want to see it in action, then check this out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y6qgoM89ekM

Interesting huh ?

The term came to light for me in a BBC documentary, and I found it astonishing.  The show focused on the fact that many of us believe that we are good at multi-tasking.  Yes, trying to do a multitude of things at the same time.  The documentary also focused on, well “Focus” and “Attention”.

multitaskingWith so much going on in our daily lives, people are being bombarded with sensory input and we are being plagued to do more in less time.  Hence we all are being forced to multi-task.  Most of us think that we are really good at it.  At this point I think that rose-coloured glasses need to come off.  The fact is, due to evolution, we aren’t.  As sophisticated at multi-tasking as we think we are, we just don’t really do it that well.  Kinda like, in much the same way we all think that we are really good drivers.  When in reality the vast majority of us are average drivers at best.  For drivers and you would-be gurus of multi-tasking, I introduce you to… The Bell Curve.  The vast majority are pretty much average, some are really good, and some really suck !  Don’t worry, there is nothing wrong with being part of the average.  I’m ok being an average driver, and I’m ok, not being an Über multi-tasker.

snake oilSo how do we get better at it, Multi-tasking that is.  That my friends I do not have an answer for.  Although I’m sure that there will be the myriad of products/methods that someone will try to sell you on.  Everything from the snake oil remedy to something that may sound a little more reputable.

So why do I bring this concept up ?  Well for starters, the concept that things can happen around you and you can be completely oblivious to them is a fact.  However, there is always a plethora of things going on or happening around you.  You just need to be receptive to the ones that really matter – seeing the important.  So what really matters, what’s important… That my friend is for you to discover.  What I think is important is likely not your idea of what you think is important.  And even the things that I think are important to pay attention to today are vastly different from what I would have thought even a few years back.  Don’t believe me, take up a new hobby.  Then watch what is does to your focus.

I think it goes back to the old adage… Take time to stop and smell the roses.120213105032-roses-lose-scent-story-top

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

